AWGIE Theatre for Young Audiences Award

The AWGIE Awards are the Australian Writers Guild annual awards for excellence in screen, television, stage and radio writing.

Presented annually since 1967, the AWGIES are unique in the industry in that they are the only writers awards judged solely by writers, and the judging is based on the written script - the intention of the writer rather than the finished product. In order to be eligible scripts must have been produced in the calendar year prior to the year of the AWGIE presentation.

For more information visit

Past winners

2018 MY ROBOT by Finegan Kruckemeyer

2014 The Violent Outburst That Drew Me To You by Finegan Kruckemeyer

2013 Truck Stop by Lachlan Philpott


2008 Stories in the Dark by Debra Oswald

2007 Hoods by Angela Betzien

2006 Boy Overboard by Patricia Cornelius

2005 THE DEAD ZONE by Kate Rice

2004 VIN by Stephen House

2003 I SAID A WORD by Stephen House

2003 THE BRIDGE by Chris Thompson

1997 SHADY CHARACTERS by Chris Thompson

Past nominees

2020 CUSP by Mary Anne Butler

2020 NORMAL by Katie Pollock

2020 ONE THE BEAR by Candy Bowers

2007 Beautiful Words by Sean Riley

2007 TRAINS OF THOUGHT by Shirley Van Sanden

2006 SPINNING THE LINE by Chris Thompson

2002 THE PROSPECTORS by Alana Valentine