Louis Esson Prize for Drama

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by The Hon. John Cain, Premier of Victoria in 1985, to mark the centenary of the births of Vance and Nettie Palmer and to honour and reward literary achievement by Australian writers.

The main suite of the awards consists of five annual categories: Fiction, Non Fiction, Drama, Poetry, and Writing for Young Adults, each with a prize of $25,000. The winners of each of these five award categories will also be in the running for the major prize, the 2016 Victorian Prize for Literature, for which the winner receives an additional $100,000. This is the single most valuable literary award in the country.

The Awards are administered by The Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

Past winners

2014 SAVAGES by Patricia Cornelius

2011 DO NOT GO GENTLE by Patricia Cornelius

2008 When the Rain Stops Falling by Andrew Bovell

2005 The Spook by Melissa Reeves

2004 Myth, Propaganda and Disaster in Nazi Germany and Contemporary America by Stephen Sewell

2003 Rapture by Joanna Murray-Smith

2002 Holy Day by Andrew Bovell

2001 Life After George by Hannie Rayson

1996 Honour by Joanna Murray-Smith

Past nominees

2015 THE LONG WAY HOME by Daniel Keene

2014 MEDEA by Kate Mulvany, Anne-Louise Sarks

2014 The Secret River by Andrew Bovell

2012 BOXMAN by Daniel Keene

2011 Sappho... in 9 fragments by Jane Montgomery Griffiths

2009 Realism by Paul Galloway

2008 Toy Symphony by Michael Gow

2008 The Story of the Miracles at Cookie's Table by Wesley Enoch

2007 It Just Stopped by Stephen Sewell

2006 Checklist For An Armed Robber by Vanessa Bates

2004 Wonderlands by Katherine Thomson

2004 Falling Petals by Ben Ellis

2003 Half and Half by Daniel Keene

2003 Aliwa! by Dallas Winmar