by Wesley Enoch, Deborah Mailman


add to cart
read extractlarge order enquiryproduction rights

Read the full script online, with an Australian Plays Transform membership

preview full script


by Wesley Enoch, Deborah Mailman

Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman’s The 7 Stages of Grieving is a proud milestone in Australian theatre history; a contemporary Indigenous performance text from the highly acclaimed Kooemba Jdarra.

Appropriating western forms whilst using traditional storytelling, it gives emotional insight into Murri life. This one-woman show follows the journey of an Aboriginal ‘Everywoman’ as she tells poignant and humorous stories of grief and reconciliation. A powerful, demanding and culturally profound text, The 7 Stages of Grieving is a celebration of Indigenous survival, an invitation to grieve publicly, a time to exorcize pain. It has a universal theme told through the personal experiences of one incredible character.

My life lesson from this play is that being strong isn’t about repressing the past or repressing pain. It’s about accepting it and pushing through despite it. Grieving is a process, a metamorphosis.” — Ursula Yovich, a multi award-winning First Nation actor and singer from the Burarra language group in the Maningrida nation in North West Arnhem Land.

for me the play still has resonance, invoking important questions regarding our history, our present situation, and possible futures for Aboriginal Australians.” — Dr. Liza-Mare Syron, an award-winning First Nations academic from the Birripi people of the mid-north coast NSW.

The story is a gift. I dare say it has inspired many Australian playwright and given insight to thousands of young people coming through our school system.” — Wayne Blair, an acclaimed First Nation director, writer, and actor from the Butchala Nation.

This title appears in:


BlakStage: Contemporary Indigenous Australian Plays

Customers who bought this also bought: