Deborah Mailman

The multi award winning Deborah Mailman AM is one of Australia’s most highly respected actors. Garnering national acclaim in 1998 for her portrayal of Nona in the film Radiance, for which she received both the AFI and Film Critics’ Circle Award for Most Outstanding Actress, Deborah’s other film credits include Three Summers, A Few Less Men, Paper Planes, Oddball, the voice of Mrs Koala in Blinky Bill, Mental, Bran Nue Dae, Dear Claudia, The Monkey’s Mask, Rabbit Proof Fence, The Book Of Revelation, Lucky Miles and the internationally celebrated and award winning feature The Sapphires for which she received the 2013 AACTA for Best Lead Actress. Deborah will next be seen in the features H Is For Happiness and 2067.

For television Deborah has created some of Australia’s most enduring characters including her TV Week Silver Logie Award winning portrayals of Bonita Mabo in Mabo, Kelly in The Secret Life Of Us and Lorraine in Redfern Now as well as lauded roles on the series Mystery Road (receiving the 2018 AACTA Award for Best Supporting Actress), Offspring, Rush, The Alice, Two Twisted, Jack Irish, Black Comedy, Tomorrow When The War Began, Cleverman, Wolf Creek, Please Like Me, Bite Club and Get Krack!n as well as voicing Big Cuz in the award winning animation Little J and Big Cuz. In 2019 Deborah received the TV Week Silver Logie for Most Popular Actress on Australian television. A regular television presenter, she has hosted Playschool and Message Sticks for the ABC, Lonely Planet’s Going Bush for SBS and co-hosted the 2015 Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Awards (AACTA) ceremony alongside Cate Blanchett
for Network Ten.

In 2019 Deborah will be seen in the lead role in the latest Blackfella Films production Total Control for the ABC, following its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival.

We acknowledge that we live and create on unceded lands. We pay our respects to the First Peoples of Australia, and to their elders past, present and future.

© Australian Plays Transform 2024